

# Country Mayors Association of NEW SOUTH WALES

Chairperson: Cr Ken Keith PO Box 337 Parkes NSW 2870 02 6861 2333 ABN 92 803 490 533

# **AGM MINUTES**

#### **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

FRIDAY, 6 November 2020, Cockle Bay Room, International Convention Centre, Sydney

The meeting opened at 9.05 a.m.

#### 1. ATTENDANCE:

Armidale Regional Council, Mr Viv May, Administrator

Armidale Regional Council, Mr John Rayner, Acting CEO

Berrigan Shire Council, Cr Matthew Hannan, Mayor

Bland Shire Council, Cr Brian Monaghan, Mayor

Blayney Shire Council, Cr Scott Ferguson, Mayor

Blayney Shire Council, Ms Rebecca Ryan, General Manager

Broken Hill City Council, Cr Darriea Turley, Mayor

Cabonne Shire Council, Cr Kevin Beatty, Mayor

Cabonne Shire Council, Mr Brad Burns, General Manager

Coffs Harbour City Council, Cr Denise Knight, Mayor

Coffs Harbour City Council, Cr George Cecato, Deputy Mayor

Coffs Harbour City Council, Mr Stephen McGrath

Coolamon Shire Council, Cr Bruce Hutcheon, Deputy Mayor

Coolamon Shire Council, Mr Tony Donoghue, General Manager

Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council, Cr Abb McAlister Mayor

Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council, Mr Phil McMurray, General Manager

Dubbo Regional Council, Cr Ben Shields. Mayor

Dungog Shire Council, Cr John Connors, Mayor

Dungog Shire Council, Mr Gareth Curtis, General Manager

Eurobodalla shire Council, Cr Liz Innes, Mayor

Forbes Shire Council, Cr Phyllis Miller, Mayor

Forbes Shire Council, Cr Chris Roylance, Deputy Mayor

Forbes Shire Council, Mr Steve Loane, General Manager

Glen Innes Shire Council, Cr Carol Sparkes, Mayor

Gunnedah Shire Council, Cr Jamie Chaffey, Mayor

Gwydir Shire Council, Cr John Coulton, Mayor

Gwydir, Shire Council, Mr Max Eastcott, General Manager

Hay Shire Council, Cr Jenny Dwyer, Mayor

Hay Shire Council, Mr David Webb, General Manager

Kempsey Shire Council, Cr Liz Campbell, Mayor

Kempsey Shire Council, Mr Craig Milburn, General Manager

Leeton Shire Council, Cr Paul Maytom, Mayor

Leeton Shire Council, Ms Jackie Kruger, General Manager

Lithgow City Council, Cr Wayne McAndrew, Deputy Mayor

Lithgow City Council, Mr Craig Butler, General Manager

Liverpool Plains Shire Council, Cr Doug Hawkins, Mayor

Liverpool Plains Shire Council, Ms Joanna Sangster, General Manager

Moree Plains Shire Council, Cr Katrina Humphries, Mayor

Murray River Council, Cr Christopher Bilkey, Mayor

Murray River Council, Cr Nikki Cohen Deputy Mayor

Murray River Council, Mr Des Bilske, General Manager

Narrabri Shire Council, Cr Ron Campbell, Mayor

Narrabri Shire Council, Mr Stewart Todd, General Manager

Oberon Council, Cr Kathy Sajowitz, Mayor

Oberon Council, Mr Gary Wallace, General Manager

Orange City Council, Cr Reg Kidd, Mayor

Parkes Shire Council, Cr Ken Keith, Mayor

Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council, Mr Tim Overall, Mayor

Shoalhaven City Council, Cr Amanda Findley, Mayor

Singleton Council, Cr Sue Moore, Mayor

Singleton Shire Council, Mr Jason Linnane, General Manager

Temora Shire Council, Cr Rick Firman, Mayor

Temora Shire Council, Mr Garry Lavelle, General Manager

Tenterfield Shire Council, Cr Peter Petty, Mayor

Tenterfield Shire Council, Mr Terry Dodds, General Manager

Uralla Shire Council, Cr Michael Pearce, Mayor

Uralla Shire Council, Ms Kate Jessop, General Manager

Warren Shire Council, Milton Quigley, Mayor

Warren Shire Council, Mr Rolly Lawford, Divisional Manager Engineering Services

Warrumbungle Shire Council, Cr Ambrose Doolan, Mayor

Warrumbungle Shire Council, Mr Roger Bailey, General Manager

LGNSW, President, Cr Linda Scott

#### **APOLOGIES:**

As read

#### 2. ADOPTION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING:

RESOLVED that the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 1 November 2019 be accepted as a true and accurate record (Singleton Shire Council /Tenterfield Shire Council).

#### 3. Chairman's Report

Chairperson Cr Katrina Humphries outlined how she enjoyed being Chair for the past four years and thanked everybody for their support during her terms

RESOLVED That the Chairman's report be received and noted (Moree Plains Shire Council /Tenterfield Shire Council)

#### 4. Secretaries Report – Financial Report

RESOLVED That the financial reports for the 2019/20 year as tabled be accepted (Moree Plains Shire Council Council/ Glen Innes Severn Council)

## 5. Returning Officer

RESOLVED That the Returning Officer for the conduct of the elections be Mr Allan Burgess (Gwydir Shire Council / Gunnedah Shire Council)

The Chairperson Cr Katrina Humphries vacated the chair

#### 7. Election of Office Bearers

# 7.1 Chairperson

The Returning Officer advised that he had received one nomination in writing for Cr Ken Keith, Parkes Shire Council, who was nominated by Uralla Shire Council and Kempsey Shire Council The Returning Officer called for any further nominations for the position of Chairperson. No other nominations were received. As there was only one nomination the Returning Officer declared Cr Ken Keith elected Chairman for the 2020/21 year

# 7.2 Vice Chairperson

The Returning Officer advised that he had received one nomination in writing. for Cr Michael Pearce, Mayor, Uralla Shire Council who was nominated by Parkes Shire Council and Temora Shire Council The Returning Officer called for any further nominations for the position of Vice Chairperson. No other nominations were received. As there was only one nomination the Returning Officer declared Cr Michael Pearce elected as Deputy Chairperson for the 2020/21 year

### 7.3 Secretary/Public Officer

RESOLVED That Mr Kent Boyd General Manager Parkes Shire Council, be appointed Secretary/Public Officer (Parkes Shire Council / Uralla Shire Council)

#### 7.4 Executive

Nominations for the six positions on the Executive were called for. Nominations were received for Cr Sue Moore Singleton Council, Cr Carol Sparks, Glen Innes Severn Council, Cr Liz Campbell, Kempsey Shire Council, Cr Rick Firman Temora Shire Council, Cr Kathy Sajowitz, Oberon Council, Cr Amanda Findley, Shoalhaven City Council, Cr Jamie Chaffey Gunnedah Shire Council and Cr Peter Petty, Tenterfield Shire Council

RESOLVED That the method of election be by ordinary ballot (Parkes Shire Council/ Uralla Shire Council)

The Chairman Cr Ken Keith took up the position of chairman Cr Keith thanked Cr Humphries on her four years as Chairman and for the work she did to promote Country Mayors as a voice of rural communities

#### 8. SETTING OF ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP FEES

RESOLVED That the fees for the 2020/21 year remain at \$750 for Councils with a population of 10,000 and over, and Councils with a population of less than 10,000 paying 75% \$562.50 (Tenterfield Shire Council / Uralla Shire Council)

#### 8. Secretariat

RESOLVED That Allan Burgess trading as Alkanat Consulting be appointed the Secretariat (Orange City Council / Dubbo Regional Council)

# 9. Meeting dates for 2021

RESOLVED that the meeting dates for 2021 be 5 March, 28 May, 6 August and 5 November (Temora Shire Council / Forbes Shire Council)

#### 10. Executive

To allow the counting of votes the AGM was adjourned at 9.35am. The AGM was resumed at 10.31am.

Following the count of the votes by the Returning Officer and Cr Linda Scott, President LGNSW the Returning Officer declared the following delegates elected to the Executive for the 2019/20 year

- Cr Jamie Chaffey, Gunnedah Shire Council
- Cr Sue Moore, Singleton Council
- Cr Peter Petty, Tenterfield Shire Council.
- Cr Kathy Sajowitz, Oberon Council
- Cr Liz Campbell, Kempsey Shire Council
- Cr Rick Firman Temora Shire Council

There being no further business the meeting closed at 10.32 am.

Cr Ken Keith Chairman Country Mayor's Association of NSW